Premier League Prediction – Week 27 Part 1

Posted on Updated on

The international break is over and to make up for lost time, the league in its wisdom has two rounds of fixtures for the Premier League clubs in the space of the week. I am grateful for that. I missed Premier League football. International football is not really all that to me and in as much as Gareth Southgate looks to start his run as the permanent manager of the national team well, there is still something largely underwhelming about it all.

Thus we’re back to the domestic game. As we return to predicting fixtures, we need to have a look at how I did the last time I considered the games. There is a points system involved where should I predict a spot on scoreline I gain three points; if I get the right outcome alone, then i get a point and if I get everything wrong, I get nothing at all.

West Brom 1-2 Arsenal (0 points – actual score 3-1)

Crystal Palace 2-2 Watford (0 points – actual score 1-0)

Everton 3-1 Hull City (1 point – actual score 4-0)

Stoke City 0-2 Chelsea (1 point – actual score 1-2)

Sunderland 1-1 Burnley (1 point – actual score 0-0)

West Ham 3-1 Leicester (0 points – actual score 2-3)

Bournemouth 2-2 Swansea (0 points – actual score 2-0)

Middlesbrough 0-2 Man Utd (1 point – actual score 1-3)

Tottenham 2-1 Southampton (3 points)

Man City 2-2 Liverpool (1 point – actual score 1-1)

Hmmmmmmmmm … 8 points. It’s better than it has been in some weeks. It’s not hitting the sort of levels that I’ve reached before, but it’s slightly better. Not happy, but not miserable. In terms of the percentage of correct outcomes, again 60% is better than an average, but it’s not the target I set for myself when I make these predictions.

Therefore I head into this weekend’s fixtures determined to do better and so let’s consider what lies ahead with some predicting of scores.

Liverpool 2-1 Everton

Burnley 1-1 Tottenham

Chelsea 3-1 Crystal Palace

Hull City 1-1 West Ham

Leicester City 3-2 Stoke City

Man Utd 2-1 West Brom

Watford 3-1 Sunderland

Southampton 2-1 Bournemouth

Swansea 2-0 Middlesbrough

Arsenal 2-2 Man City

It’s a fascinating weekend of football action where the fortunes at the top and bottom of the table could still take another turn before the midweek action. The Merseyside derby is set to be one of the toughest for both sides in a number of years, the south-coast derby won’t be one to overlook either. Arsenal have some issues to resolve with a positive result against fellow top four challengers Man City. As to whether things will turn out the way I expect …

Let’s see how it goes.

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

