About The Reading

Posted on Updated on

So what happened with all the book reviews on AF? there is a good reason. (Source: http://www.poshseven.com/)
So what happened with all the book reviews on AF? there is a good reason. (Source: http://www.poshseven.com/)

One thing that this site is known for is the book reviews.

There haven’t been as many book reviews posted of late, but that is not because I don’t like reading anymore. Indeed, part of the reason for blogging is exactly because I love words and one expression of that has been the written word.

I have not fallen out of love with reading at all. What I noticed of late, however, is my preference to shorter form reading such as blogs. I have been a big fan of first Google Reader and when that was put to pasture, I’ve enjoyed Feedly. I have tended to revert to these as my main outlet for my reading fix. It’s been rare for me to spend quality time making my way through an actual book.

It's not just writing blogs that fascinate me, but reading them as well has taken up considerable time. Source: http://www.madrasgeek.com/)
It’s not just writing blogs that fascinate me, but reading them as well has taken up considerable time. Source: http://www.madrasgeek.com/)

Part of that has been a convenience thing. I tend to either use a laptop or smart device and I had not really got into reading books online. I preferred the blogs or other online reading material like the articles on Wikipedia.

Late last years, though, things began to change. No, physical books didn’t become a big deal for me again. E-books did though. The format of putting books on pdf was a good transition because I was used to dealing with those formats. Recognising the was of dealing with them as short form reading material made it easier when they got a bit longer. The massive breakthrough came when someone pointed me to being able to read books online and seeing how much more convenient they were on the laptop or mobile device than ever before. I had already been impressed with what I could carry on my device wherever I went, to realise that an entire library could be at my fingertips with the ease of accessibility of Amazon Kindle books and Google Play books was a big eye opener.

This is something I wholeheartedly endorse. Reading and walking. You won't bump into the lampost anymore than you would just walking. (Source: http://gatherednettles.files.wordpress.com/)
This is something I wholeheartedly endorse. Reading and walking. You won’t bump into the lampost anymore than you would just walking. (Source: http://gatherednettles.files.wordpress.com/)

I am one of those who was reading when walking long before the text-walk thing became a thing. I remember reading whilst walking as long back as when I did paper rounds and helped myself to perusing the material I was delivering before I delivered it. Heh! I can recall many a Sunday morning strolling along reading the sports pages of one newspaper going into one letterbox and then contrasting those stories with a different paper that would be going to a different location. Good times.

When I discovered the ease with which I could make my way through a book whilst walking, it was an opportunity too good to be missed. So as of late it’s been a delight trundling through an autobiography or two on my way to a from work. That has perked up my interest in reading books again and with that should see the welcome back of more book reviews on this blog.

Good thing too, because it’s great to have a reading experience and then share that with others whether they are influenced by the review or not. So expect to see some sprinkled on the blog in the coming weeks and months.

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

