Ten Treats On A Thursday

Posted on Updated on

In the Other Place I’ve launched a series on tens and with so many issues on which to do tens it is only fitting that this place from time to time also chimes in with the list of tens.

Thursday, as we know, is the best day of the week. No doubt about it. Historically we recall that Thursday was the day my Mum went shopping and so that meant it was the day I would get treats. Moving into the 21st Century and my own offspring are now the recipients of Thursday treats as time and resources allow.

To celebrate this wonder here are ten great treats to look forward to on a Thursday both then and now. They are not in a definitive order, but by all means speculate as to what an order would be.

Look at those gorgeous double chocolate chip cookies. You know they were made for me. (Source: http://samiewalt.com/)
Look at those gorgeous double chocolate chip cookies. You know they were made for me. (Source: http://samiewalt.com/)

1. Double Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Let’s get this absolutely clear – chocolate is delicious. I have been informed of the negative effects of chocolate both on the teeth and overall diet. I have taken those views seriously and will go on seasons without chocolate just to give my body a break. But don’t get away from the fact that chocolate is superb. Milk chocolate obviously, not that dark chocolate stuff. So it’s one thing to come across chocolate chip cookies and admire them, but when someone went to the effort of doubling the chocolate goodness on the sucker – well that was just dream time. A worthy member of the ten worthy Thursday treats.

2. Bramley Apple Pies: 

Look at theses here apple pies. So delicious, so ravishing, so inviting ... so I'd better stop drooling looking at them. (Source: http://www.interestment.co.uk/)
Look at theses here apple pies. So delicious, so ravishing, so inviting … so I’d better stop drooling looking at them. (Source: http://www.interestment.co.uk/)

True story. When I was younger and hearing people blabber on about the importance of fruit in my diet, I thought that this was a legitimate contributor to that quotient. Truth be told in one brief season of my life a few years back I did overdo it. There are some things you can never overdo – unfortunately apple pies are not in that select group. The fact that I had a go, though, highlights, just how beautiful them there apple pies were. On this occasion again it’s important to discriminate. Regular apple pies are alright. Yet the deluxe version of apple pies worth gorging on is the bramley apple pies version. Also, don’t get hung up on them big ol’ wide apple pie types. Nah, don’t do that to yourself. Get them apportioned in those little foil holders. That’s the stuff. Oh and you can get rid of that custard as well, it’s meant to be a treat. Don’t spoil it.

3. Fruit Cocktail:

I still chuckle thinking I could get away with this as part of my five a day! Nonetheless the battles for the cherries will never be forgotten. (Source: christykrobinson.blogspot.com)
I still chuckle thinking I could get away with this as part of my five a day! Nonetheless the battles for the cherries will never be forgotten. (Source: christykrobinson.blogspot.com)

As you would have gathered by now treats on Thursday are not necessarily about doing things the healthy way. If you have a sweet tooth, treats on Thursday is the day to indulge that sweet tooth. If my pathetic efforts at incorporating apple pies into my five a day were hilarious, you should have seen me with fruit cocktail. I didn’t read the ingredients at all that helped make the tinned goods what they were … oh hold up. I see what you thought. You thought I would genuinely get the fruits, cut them up, mix them together in their natural juices and enjoy. You poor thing. None of that – it’s treat day, off to the shops to get the tinned stuff – just whip off the top, or more accurately get the loved one to do that and get some of that down your throat. Back in the day the fruit in the cocktail worked on a hierarchy – not all fruit were equal. Getting a grape was deemed enrolling into royalty. Being crowned the ruler though had to be getting the cherry. Dude, they were so rare in the mix – and rightly so, because that way we appreciated them more. Good times.

4. Chocolate Digestive Biscuits:

Before cookies, before the cake and just around the same time as acknowledging the bars, there were the biscuits. I have waxed lyrical about the beauty of chocolate digestives (read all about here), especially when they were called Homewheat biscuits. I won’t rave too much more about them here or else I’ll start crying for them … again, but when you say treats on a Thursday this was the beginning. This is the standard.

Doughnuts without jam in it are bizarre. Jam in doughnuts apparently was an alternative lyric to Love and Marriage going together like a horse and carriage. Possibly. (Source: http://www.hilarymoorephoto.com/)
Doughnuts without jam in it are bizarre. Jam in doughnuts apparently was an alternative lyric to Love and Marriage going together like a horse and carriage. Possibly. (Source: http://www.hilarymoorephoto.com/)

5. Jam Doughnuts:

There is so much to love about the doughnut. I don’t mean the hard, crunchier ones, I refer to the softer, spongier ones that your teeth feel soothed as they sink into it. Sugar coated is not the extent of the doughnut, it’s the covering, it’s the invitation, it’s the start. Plain doughnuts as well – what is that all about? What is wrong with people making the plain stuff? Life isn’t about being plain. And that means you can ditch your ring doughnuts too. They have to be the laziest doughnuts doing the rounds. No, my friend, when you do the doughnut you make it an experience never to forget with just the right filling. Just the right, gooey, lovely, sweet and delightful filling. Jam is rarely better used than at the heart of the doughnut and the doughnut is never better served by the dollop of the lovely jammy stuff right at the heart.

Yes indeed, it's not all about the sweets. Get some of this tasty stuff in there! (Source: http://media.tumblr.com/)
Yes indeed, it’s not all about the sweets. Get some of this tasty stuff in there! (Source: http://media.tumblr.com/)

6. Chicken Curry with The Works:

Thursday treats are predominantly about the desserts – that is the treat. Yet this gets an honorable mention because what makes the dessert worth enjoying is when it comes at the end of a tremendous dinner. (No not tea, tea is what you drink, dinner is your evening meal – that is the rule, for I have said so.) Now there’s something really mouth-watering even thinking about a well put together chicken curry with the works. Don’t include any of the bony stuff, just do your work with the meaty part of the chicken, you know how to work it. Work it!! Ohhhhh yeah, baby. And what do I mean by the works? Well the fuill on business – corn on the cob, coleslaw, mixed vegetables, samosas (of various types), chips, etc. etc. ooooohhhhh my mouth will fill the bath at this rate. Best stop there before I drown this here laptop.

Strawberry, Vanilla and Chocolate. Look at them side by side. It's like the National Flag for Treat Day. Of course they won't stay side by side for long. (Source: http://zombie-juice.com/)
Strawberry, Vanilla and Chocolate. Look at them side by side. It’s like the National Flag for Treat Day. Of course they won’t stay side by side for long. (Source: http://zombie-juice.com/)

7. Neapolitan Ice-Cream:

Sure you could have an ice-cream of one flavour. That can work. But why do that, when the good people who make these ice-creams have said to themselves, “We need to get ourselves a threesome.” This, of course is the only threesome I would condone. Listen, the only way vanilla is acceptable as an ice-cream is when it’s helpfully assisted by strawberry and chocolate. Indeed sometimes on the side I would just sneakily mix all three of them together and get real messy slurping that stuff up. This would only happen if I got access to the ice-cream on my own. When it came to ‘sharing’ it with my siblings, I hoped that my Mum did the right thing and ensured that the ratio of chocolate-strawberry-vanilla was 50:49:1. Funny enough, my siblings also looked for a similar ratio that left poor vanilla looking rather full whilst his cousins were … gone. Great idea, though, and when consumed it’s a great idea well executed!

As my father loved cashew nuts, so do I love cashew nuts. It was certainly a treat by the cost of it too - a luxury as well as a treat. But good stuff all the same. (Source: http://ecofrenhealth.blog.com/)
As my father loved cashew nuts, so do I love cashew nuts. It was certainly a treat by the cost of it too – a luxury as well as a treat. But good stuff all the same. (Source: http://ecofrenhealth.blog.com/)

8. Cashew Nuts:

You talk about a treat and sometimes you think about something that’s a bit of a luxury. You get it and feel as though you’re engaging in some rare, precious experience. Have you seen the prices for cashew nuts? They must come from another planet such is the exorbitant price of them. Even my Dad, who didn’t bother indulging in the other stuff, would tuck into a good pack of cashew nuts on the rare occasions finances stretched to getting them in the house. Now if my Dad loves something that’s always worth sitting up and paying attention. When I taste the cashew nuts, though, it’s clear to see why they are so highly rated. I don’t have anything against regular peanuts. They’re alright, but the cashew nut does take the standard up a notch or ten.

Some food need a lot of explanation. This doesn't. It is simply superb. (Source: http://hungryjames.files.wordpress.com/)
Some food need a lot of explanation. This doesn’t. It is simply superb. (Source: http://hungryjames.files.wordpress.com/)

9. Cherry Bakewell Tarts:

Good values mean a lot to me. Loving one another. Caring for each other. Supporting our fellow human being. Essential qualities that help enrich life as we know it. So it goes against all of that to be greedy and selfish. It’s absolutely disgusting to practice those repellent traits in any walk of life. Unless it’s about cherry bakewell tarts. That is the only exception to the rule, because cherry bakewell tarts were designed to be consumed greedily with as much thought given to oneself as possible. Don’t blame me – blame whoever, but I gotta follow the rules. They state quite clearly if there are six bakewell tarts in a box, those six bakewell tarts are to find their final resting place via my mouth and digestive system to be redistributed in a different form from the appropriate outlet. Read here to find out more. You’re welcome.

Some people cry at the birth of a baby. Some cry at a wedding. Tears of joy tend to well up in my eyes when they behold this beauty and I am informed I am about to consume it. (Source: http://panaderialasdelicias.com/)
Some people cry at the birth of a baby. Some cry at a wedding. Tears of joy tend to well up in my eyes when they behold this beauty and I am informed I am about to consume it. (Source: http://panaderialasdelicias.com/)

10. Double Chocolate Gateaux:

I started with chocolate did you expect me to end any other way? Really? Maybe you need to check where you be, but you be at Milk Chocolate Central right here on this blog. Now the double chocolate cookies were already doing a work on me. When someone pointed me to the double chocolate gateaux, though, I am sure I nearly wept with joy. Indeed thinking about it now brings tears to my eyes and a similar liquid reaction in my mouth. I talk to double chocolate gateaux. I talk and it responds to me. I ask it to fill me with it’s chocolatey goodness and it obliges. It says, ‘Yes Christopher, I sure will fill y’all up with my chocolatey goodness and you ain’t ever gonna forget me’. True enough I nail that sucker and I never forget it. Never. Ever. Give me more. Now.

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

