A Brief Word on The New Doctor

Posted on Updated on

So how's the new Doctor going in the early stages? (Source: http://www.thedrum.com/)
So how’s the new Doctor going in the early stages? (Source: http://www.thedrum.com/)

So it’s already been six weeks since the Doctor emerged on the screens in his twelfth incarnation.  Not a word, nor a peep from me about him.

Don’t take that as a bad thing.

I have indeed watched all five episodes to date. Perhaps when time and inclination affords I’ll offer each episode a proper review, but I have been communicating with friends about it as it’s been broadcast. I only wish I could relay those conversations on the blog, that would make for riveting reading seeing how different my views are, and the good points my friends make on it.

There is no doubt Jenna has held her own in the new series. (Source: http://i.dailymail.co.uk/)
There is no doubt Jenna has held her own in the new series. (Source: http://i.dailymail.co.uk/)

Anyway, this is a brief word on that which I have seen so far and I think I can make the following notes.

  • The first episode of the new Doctor was not as good as the first stories of at least the previous two Doctors. It wasn’t a bad episode and it certainly did the job in introducing the new guy but … I’ll let a full review of that cover my thoughts on the matter.
  • Clara’s role in things is still proving to be highly pivotal to things. This can be bearable sometimes, but I think in Listen it got a bit much. That’s my personal view, I know people have raved about the episode, but I was put off by her being so integral to that formative stage of the main character.
  • So far the character of Danny Pink is working very well. Reminding us of the human aspect of the programme his interaction with Clara is good stuff. He’s not as pathetic as some male characters on the show in recent years and there’s plenty of intrigue surrounding him.
  • In as much as I may not agree with Clara’s central role in things, that’s no slight on the performances of Jenna Coleman. She wasn’t awful in Smith’s last season, but she has certainly grown more assured in her performances in the role.
  • He's made a good start in the role leaving me eager to see what else he has in store. (Source: http://www.doctorwhotv.co.uk/)
    He’s made a good start in the role leaving me eager to see what else he has in store. (Source: http://www.doctorwhotv.co.uk/)

    Peter Capaldi most certainly is the Doctor. It’s one thing to cast someone in so many ways opposite to the last guy, it’s another thing for that difference to still retain enjoyment in the central character. Sure he’s still finding his way in performing the Doctor, but he’s been superb.

  • To date my favourite episode of the new series is Robots of Sherwood. Good story, plenty of meaty performances by the leading characters, paced well and providing a great deal of light relief to a portrayal of the new guy that has at times been very sombre and dark.

I am eagerly awaiting what happens in the remaining seven episodes of this season and that in itself is a great qualifier for how much I’m enjoying things to date.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

