About That FM Business …

Posted on Updated on

Well, so it turns out I was wrong about this game. No, honestly, I was wrong. My wife hasn’t left me or anything! (Source: onlinekeystore.com)

Last year I wrote a little piece on the obsession people have with the computer game Football Manager.  Throughout the piece I gave the impression that not only was I over it, but it would never affect me again.  It was a thing of the past and there was no possible way I could ever carry on with that and still maintain a healthy contribution to real family life.

I was wrong.

Back in February with some spare time on my hands – yeah I cannot believe it either, spare time, what a concept – I indulged in the game a little.  A dear work colleague had purchased the game for my birthday back in November, but I hadn’t really got going with it.  Indeed over the end of year and beginning of this year I barely touched if at all.  The inspiration came up to use it though, so I did.  And lo and behold I was able to play it, without it disrupting my life.  Truly a miracle.

When it’s all on the line, you’ll read of my progress in the game! (Source: clipart.dk.co.uk)

Since that time, as I’ve gone through one or two issues, it has proven to actually be a source of great comfort and relief.  Don’t get me wrong I’m hardly saying FM saved my life, but it has certainly been a very big help.  Such was my enjoyment of getting back in the game, that I wrote a few notes about my progress.  Not only that, but in my perusals I came across this brilliant web-site dedicated to sharing Football Manager stories.  Well that got me thinking … then I thought ‘nah, I best leave it to those capable of writing about it’.  Then I had another thought that said ‘come on, this is my blog, whether I’m able to write about it or not, I should surely be able to give it a go here of all places!’ That was a good thought.

Therefore in the coming weeks get ready to relive some fascinating twists and turns in the career of Christopher Dryden: Football Manager.  It should prove to be of some interest, and should it never scale the heights of those experts at that brilliant site, at least it will still a most intriguing story of how on earth I got on with the game.

Shalom

dmcd

One thought on “About That FM Business …

    […] the option of just going barmy with the wait, but to the rescue came two cool ideas.  One was to carry on with FM2012 which I’ll blog about in the near future. Pele unhappy at not being in the AF list of Players […]

Leave a Reply

