Song For The Asking – Simon & Garfunkel

Posted on Updated on

I watched the brilliant documentary on the making of the album Bridge Over Troubled Water broadcast on the BBC earlier this month. At some point in my teenage years I got interested in the music of Simon and Garfunkel and subsequently bits and pieces of Paul Simon’s solo career.  You know you’ve watched a good programme when it triggers memories of good times and great songs.  Hearing the outstanding songs on what was evidently a masterful album lead me to reminisce on those good days.

This song was mentioned by Art Garfunkel as underrated and I agree wholeheartedly.  Simple and yet superb in its delivery and structure, it’s a song I loved at the time and a song I love all the more now.  I didn’t pay attention to the fact that this is the last song on the last original album the two ever worked on.  Well they left on a good note. Enjoy.

Shalom

dmcd

Leave a Reply

