Hats Off To Mel Blanc

Posted on Updated on

Was I brought up on cartoons?  What do you mean was I brought up on cartoons?  Was there anything else?  What like parents?  Or community?  Or essential values to help in life?  Don’t be silly – of course I was brought up on cartoons.

Of all of them, the WB set featuring characters like Bugs Bunny, Porky Pig and Daffy Duck were my absolute favourites.  Never liked Disney really.  Didn’t find Donald, Mickey or Goofy in anyway interesting.  I was well into the adventures of the WB guys, especially Bugs Bunny.  I could spend hours watching those cartoons.  Later on I appreciated the great animation/artwork that goes in to making those, the music and background sounds was something I also grew to love and obviously for a writer like myself I knew that the whole thing had to be scripted and structured in the mind of someone, so I loved the whole writing trick.

The biggest deal though and what marked these out from just being animated was the distinct voice of the characters and to know that more often than not one guy was responsible for the voices made me sit back in awe.  Before the talents of Dan Castellaneta and Seth MacFarlane were purveyed in different characters, Mel Blanc was THE man for cartoon voices.  In fact for all the skill and ability that these later guys show, Blanc for me is still THE man for the voices.  What a talent.

Even after all these years since he passed from this mortal coil as long as there is a cartoon needing a distinct character with an unforgettable voice, the memory and brilliance of Blanc will live on. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Hats Off To Mel Blanc

    The Wit of Foghorn Leghorn « Among Friends said:
    September 11, 2011 at 12:40

    […] Cartoons have a lot to say for themselves in terms of their influence on me life.  I love them.  Not all of them, of course, just the good ones.  A common theme in the good ones is the voice of Mel Blanc which I  celebrated recently. […]

    allagekids said:
    November 12, 2012 at 03:48

    Great post! Love Mel Blanc and his work.

Leave a Reply

