AF Is Sponsored By … Mars Bar

Posted on Updated on

All hail the Mars Bar

Lately I shared with you the shock and horror of discovering that underneath the pleasant tasting strawberry bon-bons lurks the menace that is a toffee concoction.  It’s great to be able to now contrast that with a better story of something which may have toffee overtones but thankfully defies them in their beauty and deliciousness.

Of all the chocolate bars in all the world that have contributed to my decaying teeth, there will always be a special place in my heart for the Mars Bar.  You see, this was the first chocolate bar that really grabbed my interest and had me going on it for days, weeks and months at a time.  Sure, later on would come Kit-Kat, Twix, Wispa, Maltesers, Milky Way, Bounty, Galaxy, Aero, Dairy Milk and of course the incredible Dream.  These and others in their own way would find their way into my stomach and of course my heart, but Mars was my first love.  (It would be at this point that I recommend you put on Endless Love.  Not bothered if it’s Carey/Vandross or Ross/Richie. I never liked the song, but I appreciate it works to evoke a ‘romantic feel’ only too fitting for what follows.)

Look at that – lovely stuff … mmmmmmmmmmm

There it was – the red writing on the black wrapping and then out of it came a textured rigid but not too firm piece of heavenly delight and in one bite came that chewy bit but more importantly came that nougat and chocolate combination.  Who did that?  Where did it come from? (Not that I don’t know – I do – read this and you’ll see what I mean.)  Oh but more than that whoever you are and whatever you’re called, thank you.  Thank you so much for sending it my way and letting it take up great chunks of my little pocket money and supplying minutes of pleasure.  Thank you.

Of course as well as that there was that advert that suggested a Mars a day helps you work, rest and play.  Well that was alright then.  Mum may have had concerned about it ruining me teeth, but here was the television informing it was for my good.  Not only that but it came in milky shaky substance and ice cream and that kind of malarkey, almost as though there was a Mars bar family.  Check that advert out – it’s almost as if the bar is a step into a religious nirvana – see how it helps you work and then rest and get this play as well!!  Oh the joys.

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one – Lennon on Loving Mars Bars

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t have the other members of the family, I was happy with just that bar.  I think me Mum would contend as to whether or not Mars helped me to work, but there’s no doubt it was a good reason to play so that I can then rest to eat it.  In anyone’s book a 2 out of 3 record cannot be sniffed at!

So that was my first love and over time I’d go back and forth between some of the other chocolate bars I listed before, but however out of fashion it might have seemed, I could never let go of my admiration for the Mars bar.  Even now when funds are tight and I find myself in that selfsame pound shop that helped me with me strawberry bon-bons revelation, I know I can get a Mars bar and everything is going to be alright.

Here’s to you Mars Bar – you will be eaten, and never forgotten.

Shalom

dmcd

2 thoughts on “AF Is Sponsored By … Mars Bar

    Mike said:
    May 1, 2011 at 19:55

    mmmmmmmmm is right!
    Long live the Mars bar!

    […] love chocolate. You know that. In fact one of the most viewed entries on this site is about a chocolate sponsor! Yet sometimes a season is called for to deny myself of chocolate. Yes it’s true, sometimes I […]

Leave a Reply

