Cures for Insomnia: Ford Pardons Nixon

Posted on Updated on

Yeah I’m still on the Nixon trip – when somethng’s that fascinating, I don’t have a problem at all spending some  time on it here right on the blog.

At this time, though, I thought I’d combine the interest with a service to those who suffer from insomnia.  Now I’m no doctor, but I would imagine, anything that supported the capacity to sleep would be an advantage to those that suffer from such a devastating dysfunction.

Although I don’t suffer from the affliction myself, I can attest to the fact that I started watching this clip and sure enough, more powerful than any sleeping pill you can imagine before too long I was inhabiting the land of nod.

I also watched the inauguration speech of Gerald Ford and would share that with you as well, but realise that could be overkill for some.  Don’t get  me wrong, please.  I’m sure Ford was an earnest, honest politician (I know. Crazy having those words in the same sentence isn’t it?)  I’m sure the brother was sincere in doing the best for his country and after all as he said, he didn’t ask to be President.  He didn’t stand for that or the vice-presidency and he didn’t ask for Watergate, but that’s the name of the game and so he had to step up to the plate.

Also, I don’t expect all leaders to be amazing orators capable of capturing the heart and mind with their outstanding rhetoric.  That would be an unfair requirement and turn leadership itself into the power of words, when it’s actually the power of influence and action that matters.  So in that sense Ford not being the world’s greatest speaker shouldn’t be a minus, and lets face it, his successor was hardly going for Spokesman of the Century.

For all that, and the content and intent of his message to the American people at this serious time in their history, this speech is seriously, seriously, onerously boring.  And I thought I’d share that with you on this glorious Sunday afternoon.

You’re welcome.

OK to be fair to the guy he wasn’t there to bore people, and he did his bit for his country as this tribute displays.  Enjoy.

Shalom

dmcd

One thought on “Cures for Insomnia: Ford Pardons Nixon

    BRUCE B FITTS said:
    August 6, 2010 at 20:26

    COMPARED TO FDR AND LBJ WATERGATE SHOULD NOT HAVE EVEN BEEN IN THE NEWPAPERS. REMEMBER, HUBERT HUMPHERY SAID–RICHARD NIXON COMITTED NO IMPEACHABLE OFFENSE.

Leave a Reply

