Thierry Eliez covers Overjoyed and If It’s Magic

Posted on Updated on

You’ve got the idea by now that I’m into Stevie Wonder and I’m into folks who cover his music. I obviously prefer it if they do a good job of that and unless the effort is so awful it’s laughable I won’t post it unless it’s worth you giving some time to it.

Now do I know Thierry Eliez?  What do you think?  Of course I don’t (see how I take it easy on your brain, right there).  Never heard of him in all my days on planet earth until I came across his version of Overjoyed.  Let me deal with If It’s Magic cover first.  That’s alright, not uprooting any trees or establishing a threat to the original, but a good faithful cover of the song – the brother’s alright vocally and I’m cool with that.

To be fair, though, if it was just this bit that I was reviewing, I wouldn’t post it.  It’s the piano’s treatment of Overjoyed that caught my attention.  It’s not just showing off, it’s taking a song and doing things with it that only a piano can do justice to, wonderful version indeed.  (Trust me I try not to use that pun, but it’s not meant as a pun in this instance.)  The man is evidently gifted to weave a spell on the piano that gets you up and hopping around the song and settled into it by the end.  A marvellous rendition well worth giving your time to consider.  Enjoy.

Shalom

dmcd

Leave a Reply

