That’s Entertainment: The Rock & Stone Cold

Posted on Updated on

I still watch pro-wrestling … kinda.  I catch up on the occasional RAW and whenever someone’s put it on Bravo when Impact is on I’ll give it a watch.  I also keep up with what’s going on through the various good wrestling outlets online.  I still hold out the hope that there will be something to keep my interest – a character, a storyline, a proposed match – that might ratchet the quality of the show to a new high.

What keeps me hoping are promos like this between Stone Cold and The Rock in the latter part of 2001.  This is good stuff and they’re not even trying.  They are having a laugh really.  They would do better stuff than this, but to get two personalities riffing against each other like this is so rare.

There are shades of greatness in the promos of Chris Jericho and CM Punk.  I’d even concede that on a good day there’s every chance Triple H might put in a good bit on the mic.  For what that’s worth, though, they don’t match to this quality output.  I’m definitely not buying John Cena and Randy Orton as anything like that standard.

So being able to remember quality promos like this and know that there is potential and possibility, keeps me enjoying the sports entertainment brand.  I’m not ashamed to say that either. Enjoy.

Shalom

dmcd

One thought on “That’s Entertainment: The Rock & Stone Cold

    […] a healthy interest.  My particular favourite of the month was the tribute to how entertaining the Rock and Stone Cold Steve Steve Austin are.  Look it’s about entertainment, people, and when you’re good at it, you […]

Leave a Reply

