People Make The World Go Round – Compare & Contrast

Posted on Updated on

This is a track to enjoy listening to – its not for a visual feast, but an audio one.  The original as you may not know – hey I didn’t – was done by The Stylistics and you can check their version below.  The original is cool as are some decent covers that you search for.  In fact I’d be interested to see what you make of either version.  The rule usually is that the original is difficult to top.  That’s the rule, but obviously there are exceptions to that rule and this is one of them.

I’ve never heard of Marc Dorsey before and there’s nothing really outstanding that would make me chase after his discography, but there’s no doubting his vocal talent.  He and the arranger have taken a decent song and updated it so that to this listener’s ears it is even more accessible and I’m able to digest the serious implications of the lyrics whilst marvel at the smooth groove of it all.  Whatever your persuasion – original or update – Enjoy.

Shalom
dmcd

3 thoughts on “People Make The World Go Round – Compare & Contrast

    […] I came across this track sometime in the last six months or so. I came across it because it was from Marc Dorsey whose version of People Make The World Go Round is the best one I’ve heard. as you may recall from this post. […]

    What A Funny Old Day « Life With Da Man CD said:
    November 3, 2010 at 00:06

    […] I sighed in exasperation I thought again of the song People Make the World Go Round and then reflected again on how really it was the love of God that stopped me hardening my heart […]

    […] sees me post something by the maestro.  A few years ago I posted on the version of the song by the original dudes The Stylistics and compared to a fine cover by a gentleman called Marc Dorsey.  Two excellent renditions of an excellent […]

Leave a Reply

